Annual Reports on Committee Activities:


Board of Directors

This is an elected committee that is ultimately responsible for SORTEE. Three positions on the board come open each year and are elected by the members of SORTEE in November. These terms last for three (3) years.


Members serving from 2024 through 2026 are:


Matthieu Paquet
Matthieu Paquet is a researcher working on behavioural ecology and population dynamics at the Theoretical and Experimental Ecology Station (SETE,CNRS).


Malgorzata (Losia) Lagisz
Malgorzata (Losia) Lagisz is a Research Fellow at the University of New South Wales Sydney, where she works on meta-research and evidence synthesis.


Members serving from 2023 through 2025 are:


Ed Ivimey-Cook
Ed Ivimey-Cook (President-Elect) is a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Glasgow.

Patrice Pottier
Patrice Pottier is a PhD student at the University of New South Wales.

Alfredo Sánchez Tójar
Alfredo Sánchez Tójar is a researcher at Bielefeld University, where he focuses on evidence synthesis and meta-research in ecology and evolution.


Members serving from 2022 through 2024 are:


Kaija Gahm
Kaija Gahm (Secretary) is a PhD student at UCLA, studying spatiotemporal dynamics of vulture social networks in the Pinter-Wollman lab.

Alexa Fredston
Alexa Fredston (Treasurer) is a quantitative ecologist and Assistant Professor at the University of California Santa Cruz.


Executive Committee

As specified in the SORTEE bylaws, the Executive Committee is chosen by the Board of Directors.
Current officers are:  

Rose O’Dea (President)
Ed Ivimey-Cook (President-Elect)
Dominique Roche (Past President)
Alexa Fredston (Treasurer)
Kaija Gahm (Secretary)


Advocacy Committee

The Advocacy committee follows two ‘Unconference’ sessions at the 2021 SORTEE conference, asking whether this society should actively advocate for policy change. The Advocacy committee will develop policy statements and propose advocacy projects for improving the openness, reliability, and transparency of research in ecology and evolutionary biology.

Current members are:

Joel Pick (Chair)
Daniel Morillo Cuadrado
Edward Ivimey-Cook
Elina Takola
Jake Williams
Julia Sharapi
Kevin Bairos-Novak
Shinichi Nakagawa


Awards Committee

The awards committee is responsible for managing the SORTEE awards program (

Current members are:

Hannah Dugdale (Chair)
Malgorzata (Losia) Lagisz
Sandra Hamel


Budget Committee

The Budget Committee reviews and approves funding requests.

Current members are:

Alexa Fredston (Treasurer)
Kaija Gahm
Tim Parker
Ed Ivimey-Cook
Malgorzata Lagisz


Conference Committee

The Conference committee organizes the virtual SORTEE Conference, held in October.

Current members are:

Marija Purgar (Chair)
Giulia Masoero
Ineta Kačergytė
Juliette Tariel-Adam
Matthieu Paquet
Ramakrishnan Vasudeva
Sofia Paraskevopoulou
Stephanie Flaman
Sissi Lozada Gobilard


Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee promotes diversity, equity, and inclusion within SORTEE’s activities and committees.

Current members are:

Brooke Long-Fox (Chair)
Coralie Williams
Easton White
Gabe Winter
Julia Sharapi
Malika Ihle
Michael Remke
Suz Everingham


EcoEvoRxiv Committee

EcoEvoRxiv (EcoEvo“archive”) is a not-for-profit subject-matter specific research repository for works related to ecology, evolution and conservation. EcoEvoRxiv is an official preprint server of SORTEE.

Current members are:

Daniel Noble (Chair)
Stefan Vriend (co-Chair)
Birgit Szabo
Brooke Long-Fox
Elvira D’Bastiani
Félicie Dhellemmes
Gideon Deme
Jenna Braun
Katie Florko
Melina de Souza Leite
Noëlle Schenk
Matthieu Paquet
Yseult Héjja-Brichard
Marta Acácio
Mario A. Sandoval-Molina
Pablo Recio-Santiago


Education and Outreach Committee

The Education & Outreach committee provides educational resources to individuals and organizations interested in learning more about improving research by making it more open, reliable, and transparent.

Current members are:

Iain Moodie (Chair)
Kaija Gahm
Elizabeth Hrycyna
Max Czapanskiy
Michael Remke
Natasha Gownaris
Laura Super
Rachel Turba


Fundraising Committee

The Fundraising committee develops and implements plans for raising funds to support SORTEE.

Current members are:

Dominique Roche (Chair)
Barbara Class
Daniel Hoops
Natasha Tay
Raphaël Royauté
Samuel Gascoigne


Media Committee

The Media committee develops content (for the website, social media, and newsletter), designs and maintains the website, and develops new ideas for spreading the word about SORTEE and open, reliable, and transparent science.

Current members are:

Tim Parker (Chair)
Alfredo Sánchez-Tójar
Caleb Onoja Akogwu
Eleanor Jackson
Gabe Winter
Malgorzata (Losia) Lagisz
Swastika Issar


Member Engagement Committee

A new addition in 2024, the Member Engagement Committee oversees opportunities for SORTEE members to interact throughout the year. The motivation behind starting this committee is to increase the benefits of SORTEE membership (e.g., camaraderie, opportunity to join collaborative projects).

Current members are:

Rose O’Dea (Chair)
Charlotte Recapet
Malika Ihle
Matthieu Paquet
Natalie van Dis
Romy Zeiss
Tom Ratz


Senior Advisory Board

The purpose of the SAB is to provide senior counsel and advice to SORTEE leadership (Officers, Directors, and Chairs), and to facilitate strategic connections with related organizations and individuals. The Terms of Reference for the Senior Advisory Board can be found here.

Current members are:

Allen Moore
Ben Sheldon
Bob Montgomerie
Bob Wong
Fiona Fidler
Julia Koricheva
Klaus Reinhold
Loeske Kruuk
Mark Burgman
Michael Jennions
Nicolas Galtier
Richard McElreath
Tracey Chapman
William Sutherland


Past Board Members

Please see this page.